The Persian Goldfish

1

I was the goldfish, brilliant as the sun.

3

Alone in my bowl, deceived, I was free.

Lounging in waters, calm, my trough,

spent I eternity eyeing the gold coins below.

9

Until some force, a shine, Sublime

showered upon my round universe

spring, along with a myriad of signs:

a drop of vinegar for patience in hard times

for health, chunks of apple and garlic

wisdom from the rays of a candlestick.

My vision, much clearer, I witnessed

the water, now a bright pink, stressed

with love for the soul and hyacinths galore.

4

In the glass bowl, I saw not my reflection

but blossoming sprouts, a reincarnation.

Now, I live to comprehend the Merciful One

and become a goldfish, obedient as the sun.

Sara's Haft Sin!

Sara’s Haft Sin!

Haft sin is a spread put out for the Persian New Year as the sun completes its cycle. Iranians and several Muslims celebrate the first day, Nawroz, also the first day of Spring. The beautiful spread above is the work of a dear Iranian friend of mine, Sara, who lives in Istanbul.

Inspired from the haft sin, I wrote a poem as 1394 begins. I wish us a peaceful upcoming year complete with love, travel, success, and fulfilled dreams. Although I don’t have a haft sin to share, I have a few photographs of mine that I hope will lend us color and inspiration.

13 thoughts on “The Persian Goldfish

  1. It is easy for me to be stuck in my own world and my own points of view. My issues are few, my problems are petty. You write so beautifully and creatively with a depth that gives me pause. At my age I still have much to learn and experience. As I read blogs, particularly yours, it seems that I have missed so much.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Your words touched my heart. I am so glad you liked my writing. I too struggle with learning to appreciate whatever the world has to offer, instead of simply being focused on the minor setbacks. It’s inspiring to read on your blog how invested you are in continuing to explore this world of ours. Rumi once said, “You were born with wings, why prefer to crawl through life?”

      Like

Feel free to share your thoughts :)

